Clap Along If You Feel Like A Room Without A Roof

17 Jul

Because I’m happy. Seriously. I am. And I want you to be too.

Gratitude and how it’s connected to happiness is today’s lesson.

I’ve said this before, I’m no scientist. All I know is what I’ve been through and the lessons I’ve learned along the way. So if you want scientific proof…you should definitely continue on with your search elsewhere.

Back to our topic. Gratitude. And for clarity’s sake, when I talk about gratitude, I don’t mean the “thank you” that comes out of your mouth like a reflex when someone does something for you or gives you something, although, that is still important. I’m talking about really realizing how lucky you are to have all you do. The kind of gratitude that makes you celebrate life and pass on those gifts to others in need.

Now, I’m not casting stones here. I’m guilty of more than the occasional lapse in the gratitude department. There are so many important things I overlook when I say my prayers. For example, the ability to walk, to have the use of my thumbs to grip things like my toothbrush, a steering wheel or even a spoon to feed myself. I take for granted having an amazingly patient, kind and thoughtful husband who comforts me and takes care of me when I’m unable to do all those things I just mentioned. I take for granted the caring family and friends I have who love me unconditionally. I take for granted that even though I don’t make much money, I have an employer who bent over backwards to get me approved for FMLA to take intermittent leave so I don’t get fired for my attendance. Also, I have health benefits that allow me to get the medication I need and access to a rheumatologist.

It’s so easy to get caught up in the quagmire of self-pity and depression, especially when you’re faced with the inability to complete simple tasks like feeding yourself. It’s easy to let that self-pity overshadow the moment when someone who loves you brings you a spoon with a folded up paper towel wrapped and taped around the handle so that it’s easier to grip. (Seriously though, that just happened yesterday)

When I stopped to think about all these things today, I realized how grateful I feel. The emotion swept over me, and I thought my heart could explode with all the happiness I felt at that one single moment. I realized that I have to do better. I started to think about what I can do to pass this feeling along. And so here I am, making a start of it with this post.

Most of you (God willing) won’t know what it’s like to feel grateful for having use of  your thumbs, or the ability to do all the things it takes to get yourself to work. These things won’t move your or touch your heart the way it does mine. But take a look at your life. Take stock of all the wonderful and amazing blessings. Because I tell you, friend, to really, truly feel gratitude in your heart, that’s the door to happiness.

Tell me, what do you take for granted?

GIMME YOUR TWO CENTS

