WRECK IT WEDNESDAY!!! (Issue No. 8)

27 Feb

Welcome, welcome, welcome! Here we are again, my friends, another Wreck it Wednesday. I figure the little traditions that I began not so long ago here on this blog need to be resuscitated. So here I am, attempting to breathe new life into Wednesdays.

In case you lovely people need a refresher on what a Wreck is. A Wreck is when we chat about ways to turn your life upside down. Shake up all those ideas you have about how you’re supposed to live, how you’re supposed to look at the world. Society seems to have rules for everything. But there’s not one person on this planet that should tell you how to live your life. You do not have any obligation to live up to anyone’s expectations or ideals.

Sure, it’d be nice to stroll into Lowes or Home Depot and pick up all the things your heart desires to make your home into that image of perfection from all those magazines and websites you’ve been pouring over. But who has the money these days? An even better question is this: Why in the hell would you want to make your space into an image out of someone else’s imagination?

My best friend wanted a fire pit to add to her new backyard addition. Incidentally, she also wanted the brick planter dismantled. So here’s what I did…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some used/recycled bricks, cheap wood, a few cinder blocks, some spray paint and a little acrylic craft paint…and there you go. A fully functional and entirely customized fire pit, complete with benches. It absolutely doesn’t line up with all those beautiful images I always see on Pinterest and on the magazine racks. Nevertheless, it’s perfect. I wouldn’t want it any other way. Besides, those words painted on the benches pretty much describe the whole reason the fire pit was wanted anyway. To inspire relationships, life, love, faith, happiness and laughter.

That’s what it’s all about, kids. Hope you enjoyed today’s Wreck.

5 Responses to “WRECK IT WEDNESDAY!!! (Issue No. 8)”

  1. inspiretheworld2day February 27, 2013 at 11:43 pm #

    This is absolutely incredible! Love, love, love what you created!

  2. inspiretheworld2day March 19, 2013 at 3:14 am #

    I nominated you for the Liebster Award! I love your creativity!

  3. mexidishone July 17, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    Come back! Where are you?

  4. flowry September 10, 2013 at 1:56 am #

    Wow I loved this instantly. I have never heard of a “wreck it wednesday” type of idea either. And I just have to say that reading “it’s sunny in my soul” makes me happy.

    Faith

    • itssunnyinmysoul September 10, 2013 at 2:00 am #

      Daaaww….that’s so sweet of you to say! Thank you so much, this is a wonderful compliment. I’m so happy that you enjoy my little spot here. 🙂 It really means a lot to know it’s not just me (and my volunteer editor, lol) reading this stuff.

GIMME YOUR TWO CENTS

