Operation: Chicken, Episode One

15 Mar

Chicken is what’s for dinner. It’s always what’s for dinner, isn’t it? Well, it certainly seems that way to me.

I was at Costco, and I thought I was buying a huge pack of boneless skinless chicken breasts. Alas, I was not. I bought boneless skinless chicken alright, but they were tenderloins, not breasts. Luckily, I roll with the punches. What do I do? I do what any self-respecting twenty-something woman would do. I made chicken strips.

Normally the drill is, slice the chicken breasts into strips dip them one by one in a couple beaten eggs, then dredge in bread crumbs.

It was time for a departure from the standard. So since I was already off to a great start because the chicken needed no cutting (hip, hip, hoorraay!) I decided to mix up the preparation. I had recently purchased some Boars Head brand honey mustard that turned out to be pretty dang delicious, so I added a healthy helping of honey mustard to the beaten egg (about a 1:1 ratio). I added some parmesan cheese to the bread crumbs (about 1:3 ratio-cheese to crumb) and dredged those chicken tenderloins….then they got fried.

Turns out, honey mustard in the egg is a winning combination. I highly recommend it…as long as you enjoy the taste of honey mustard of course. Otherwise, I don’t suppose it’d make sense.

I like to do little side notes, so this post is no exception…If I had been thinking about it last night, I would have used crushed Ritz crackers instead of tired bread crumbs. Next time.

GIMME YOUR TWO CENTS

