No, soup does not come from a can…

11 Jan

Soup comes from the kitchen. But apparently not yours.

I once brought left over Chicken Tortilla Soup to work for lunch. A co-worker asked what brand it was. I laughed at their response to me saying it was homemade. “What do you mean? Doesn’t soup come from a can??”  What do you think I mean? I made it at home. Duh.

Considering how food-obsessed this country has become, it’s amazing to see how many people actually do not cook. With all the magazines, newspapers and blogs nowadays that write articles dedicated to the review of food, you would think that we lived in a country where basic culinary skills were a necessity in every household and something taught to our children much like brushing teeth before bed. Apparently that’s not the case. Until recently, I had no idea that so many people don’t cook for themselves. I also had no idea how many young adults had no idea how to wash their own laundry until I went to college and lived in the dorms…but I digress.

Since we all must be the change we wish to see in the world, I’ve decided that the Itssunnyinmysoul household will entertain more. I will have friends and family over for a home cooked meal as much as possible. We will sit at the dinner table (that’s how it got its name after all, isn’t it?). We will turn off the television and enjoy each other’s company without the sound of the Kardashians cackling and fighting or the news telling us the world is going to hell in a handbasket. Together, we will bring back the tradition of family dinners, and not just for special occasions.

The end game? We will all share our culinary experiences and recipes. We will raise our children (for me, possible future children) how to chiffonade basil or how to french their own fries. We will spread our tradition to others so that they too can be more self-reliant and understand how much better a meal tastes when it’s not from a can, styrofoam container or cardboard box, zoned out and sitting in front of the tube.

6 Responses to “No, soup does not come from a can…”

  1. izzy (@kiiwi) January 13, 2012 at 1:50 am #

    It’s sort of sad to think that your coworker believed all soup must come from a can.
    Enjoyed this post. :]

  2. amyleebell January 13, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    Seven or eight years ago, I was a cashier at Schnucks. A lady came through with a pumpkin, and I asked her if she was going to make pumpkin pie. *She* laughed at *me* as though I were an idiot! “You can’t make pumpkin pies from a pumpkin!”
    We went through a phase last year where we were inviting people over for dinner on random week nights. It was so nice; I don’t know why we ever got away from it… I’ll definitely be trying to reinstate that in my schedule, thanks to your post!

    • itssunnyinmysoul January 23, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

      You can’t make pumpkin pies from a pumpkin? That’s hysterical! Funny how accustomed we have become as a society to shortcuts. I think people would be amazed at the difference a little extra effort to make things from scratch makes on a meal…or most anything for that matter.

      That’s so great to hear that you’re going to try to reinstate meals with friends! If you are the only person I inspire to do that, I think I’ve done pretty well 🙂 Please let me know how it goes for you, and maybe we can swap a few recipes?

      THanks for the comment, and the read!

      • amyleebell January 25, 2012 at 9:08 am #

        I did post a couple of dinner party recipes last year, if you’re interested. A very easy lasagna, spinach-artichoke dip, and a twice-baked mashed potato dish. They’re in my recipe category. Sadly, we haven’t invited anyone over for dinner yet this year (except my brothers and sisters, and they come every Sunday), although we have been invited to dinner by two other couples! Which was very nice, because we had lots of people over last year, but were almost never invited to their houses in return. While I’m thinking about it, I’m going to shoot out an email right now, and try to arrange a dinner party for next month. Do you have any recipes?

      • itssunnyinmysoul January 25, 2012 at 11:27 am #

        I am definintely interested! I’ll take a look at those recipes, thank you so much! As for me, yes, I do have a few. I am actually working on getting them posted up…but I sure can email them to you in the mean time. I’ve got a meatloaf recipe, chicken tortilla soup, ranch mashed potatoes, bourbon pecan pie, strawberry rhubarb pie and black bottom cupcakes…and I’m adding German chocolate cake as well.

        I just had a birthday dinner for one of my best friends and his wife this past weekend…such joy to have company with some good food. 🙂

        Keep me updated on that dinner party!

      • amyleebell January 25, 2012 at 11:41 am #

        Sounds great! I think you can see my email address if you click on my Gravatar from my blog. In the meantime, I will follow you, to make sure I don’t miss out on anything!

GIMME YOUR TWO CENTS

