Brown Cow: The Verdict…

5 Jan

So, do we remember my post about Certified Humane products? If not, you may want to go back and read I’m No Hippie, But…  That will give you a little background on why I’m taking the time to review a cup of yogurt. Today is the end of my work week, and I’ve been eating my Brown Cow yogurt and I’m ready to write a review.

At 180 calories for a 6oz serving, I was initially a bit skeptical. But then I read the ingredient listing and here’s what I saw:

Cultured Pasteurized Milk, Honey, Cherries, Evaporated Cane Juice, Pure Maple Syrup, Pectin, Natural Flavor, Locust Bean Gum, Red Cabbage Juice Concentrate (For Color), Vanilla Extract. Contains Live Active Cultures: S. Thermophilus, L. Bulgaricus, L. Acidophilus and Bifidus

I have to admit, I hate artificial sweeteners of any kind. Yes, Splenda may be made from sugar, but I’m sorry, no matter what you say, it certainly does not taste like sugar. Seeing that honey, cane juice and pure maple syrup were the only sweeteners used in this product, I was immediately impressed.

Moving on to the yogurt itself…when I first peeled back the lid, I was surprised that the yogurt looked pretty gross,  like everything had separated. Then I remembered the label said “cream top”, this must be the cream. I was right. It took very little effort on my part to get the yogurt mixed up, and it looked and tasted creamy and delicious. No gross after-taste, just pure delicious fruity yogurt goodness.

All in all, I can say that the only yogurt that rivals Brown Cow for flavor and quality ingredients is Tillamook. However, being Humane Certified, this Brown Cowyogurt makes my heart feel as happy as my taste buds. An added bonus? The label tells me that the company dedicated 10% of their profits to the earth. You’re welcome, Planet Earth.

Cherry Vanilla Flavor

One Response to “Brown Cow: The Verdict…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Brown Cow update…. « itssunnyinmysoul - January 23, 2012

    […] anyone who enjoyed Brown Cow: The Verdict, here is a very brief […]

GIMME YOUR TWO CENTS

